How Much Does a DIY Wedding Cost?

I recently read an article on weddingchicks.com about how much a DIY wedding costs. The couple was trying to cut down and stick to a small budget- of over $18,000!  Andrew and I are trying to keep ours under $1,500. So how much does a DIY wedding cost?

The other day I bought a dress- technically, separates- from BHLDN. Maybe not the one I’ve had my eye on for awhile, but still gorgeous and unique. I don’t feel that I’ve missed out or settled in any way. It came to $485, including $25 in shipping charges. A significant amount for such a small budget, but half of what many “less-expensive” dresses cost. I’m looking for hair accessories to finish the look, and eventually I’ll have to look for shoes. Blue, to go with our color scheme? Once we decide on a venue I’ll know whether to get flat or heeled shoes; it will also depend on how long the skirt is on me!

We’re researching venue options now. Many places seem to expect their customers to hand over thousands, so it’s been a long and involved search. We shall persevereImage =)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Much Does a DIY Wedding Cost?

  1. Becs says:

    I can’t even tell you how excited I am!!!! :)

  2. Reina says:

    Yes, blue shoes for “something blue”! I love how women nowadays don’t just wear white shoes.

Leave a Reply

